3.3.1.8 Saskatchewan

The government of Saskatchewan consists of a Lieutenant Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly. Since February 3, 1970 the Honourable Stephen Worobetz has been Lieutenant Governor. The statutory number of members of the Legislative Assembly is 61, elected for a maximum term of five years. As a result of the general election June 11, 1975, 39 New Democrats, 15 Liberals and seven Progressive Conservatives were elected to form Saskatchewan's 18th Legislature.

The Premier receives \$20,000 and each Cabinet Minister \$15,000 annually in addition to a sessional indemnity and allowance. The Leader of the Opposition receives \$15,000 plus an office allowance of \$24,000 per annum, the Speaker \$5,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$3,000.

Each member of the Legislature is paid a sessional indemnity of \$6,000, an expense allowance of \$4,000 and a sessional allowance of \$2,500. Each of the members for the three northernmost constituencies of Prince Albert East, Athabasca and Meadow Lake receives a \$6,500 sessional indemnity and a \$4,250 expense allowance. Government and Opposition Whips are paid an annual allowance of \$1,000 each and legislative secretaries an annual allowance of \$3,000 each.

The Executive Council of Saskatchewan as of July 1975

- Premier and President of the Council, Hon. A.E. Blakeney
- Attorney General, Hon. R.J. Romanow
- Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon. J.R. Messer
- Minister of Health, Hon. W.E. Smishek
- Minister of Labour and Minister of Social Services, Hon. G.T. Snyder

Minister of Human Resources Development, Minister of Northern Saskatchewan and Minister of Saskatchewan Fur Marketing, Hon. G.R. Bowerman

Minister of the Environment, Hon. N.E. Byers

Minister of Education, Minister of Continuing Education and Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. G. MacMurchy

- Minister of Highways and Transportation and Minister in charge of the Saskatchewan Transportation Company, Hon. E. Kramer
- Minister of Government Services and Minister in charge of Telephones, Hon. J.E. Brockelbank Minister of Finance, Hon. E. Cowley
- Provincial Secretary, Minister of Culture and Youth and Minister in charge of the Saskatchewan Housing Corporation, Hon. E.
- Tchorzewski Minister of Consumer Affairs and Minister of Cooperative Development, Hon. W.A. Robbins
- Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. J.R. Kowalchuk
- Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Edgar Kaeding Minister of Mineral Resources, Hon. Ed Whelan.

3.3.1.9 Alberta

In addition to the Lieutenant Governor (since April 1974 the Honourable R. Steinhauer) the government of Alberta is composed of an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly of 75 members elected for a maximum period of five years. On March 26, 1975, 69 Progressive Conservatives, four members of the Social Credit party, one New Democrat and one Independent-Social Credit member were elected to form the 18th Legislature.

Each member of the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional indemnity of \$9,000, a \$4,500 expense allowance and \$30 for each day during the session when the member is necessarily absent from his ordinary place of residence. In addition to the indemnity and expense allowance, the Speaker receives a salary of \$8,000 and the Deputy Speaker \$5,000. The Leader of the Opposition's salary in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance is \$22,000. The Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Leader of the Opposition also receive \$30 for each day during the session when they are necessarily absent from their ordinary place of residence. In addition to the session allowance is \$22,000, and the Speaker, Deputy Speaker and Leader of the Opposition also receive \$30 for each day during the session when they are necessarily absent from their ordinary place of residence. In addition to the sessional indemnity and allowance the Premier receives \$27,000, other Ministers \$22,000 and Ministers without portfolio \$16,000.

The Executive Council of Alberta as at April 3, 1975

- Premier and President of the Executive Council, Hon. Peter Lougheed
- Deputy Premier and Minister of Transport, Hon. Hugh M. Horner
- Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Hon. Donald R. Getty
- Minister of Federal and Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. Louis D. Hyndman

Minister of Hospitals and Medical Care, Hon,

- Gordon T.W. Miniely
- Provincial Treasurer, Hon. C. Mervin Leitch Minister of Labour, Hon. Neil S. Crawford
- Minister of Advanced Education and Manpower, Hon. Bert Hohol
- Minister of Housing and Public Works, Hon. William J. Yurko